Skip navigation
User Manual
Overview

Segments


A Segment is a filtered list of people that have something in common, such as the same Tag, Custom Field, or some other criteria.

When a Segment is created, it dynamically includes and excludes people based on the specified filter criteria. When a person matches the criteria, they are included in the Segment. When a person no longer matches the criteria, they are excluded from the Segment. There is no limit to the number of times a person can be included or excluded from a Segment. A person can be included in multiple segments at the same time without counting towards your billing multiple times.

Create Segment


Use the People Filter to create, view, and save Segments. Filter Active people to view:

  • all active people: all of the people in your account that you can engage with and are billed for.

  • people subscribed to email marketing: all active people who are opted-in and able to receive email marketing.

  • people unsubscribed from email marketing: all active people who have unsubscribed from commercial marketing emails. These people can still receive transactional emails, trigger workflows, receive Facebook and Instagram advertising, etc.

  • people subscribed or unsubscribed from email marketing: all active people who are subscribed and all people who are unsubscribed from commercial marketing emails.

  • people who are undeliverable: people that have been marked as undeliverable.

Filter Criteria

Apply filters to your list to create a new Segment. You can use multiple conditions in a filter. To add additional conditions, click + Add a condition. When multiple conditions are separated by AND a person must satisfy each condition to be returned in the segment.

Or filter criteria

When sets of conditions are separated by OR a person is only required to fulfill one set of conditions to be included in the segment.

Click Refresh to update your list to show only people who fulfill the specified filter criteria.

Click Clear to remove the conditions from the filter. When you clear a filter, all conditions are removed.

To create a new Segment of people:

  1. Click People

  2. Click Active

  3. Click Choose a filter…

  4. Specify the segment criteria using the Filter

  5. Click Refresh

The People list will refresh once you've made a selection and populate only with people of the selected status.

Save a Segment  

Save segments of people in your account that share common information such as specific Tags, Custom Fields, and other data sets.   

To save a Segment:

  1. Click People

  2. Click Active

  3. Click Choose a filter…

  4. Specify the segment criteria using the Filter

  5. Click Refresh

  6. Click Save Segment

  7. Give the Segment a name

  8. Click Save Segment

The Segment will be saved under your Saved Segments. To access the saved segments in your account:

  1. Click People

  2. Click Saved Segments

Saved Segments can be sorted by most recent, oldest, A-Z, and Z-A. If no other sort option is selected, the list of segments will appear in alphabetical order.

To select another sort option, click the sorted by drop-down and select from one of the following options:

  • Most Recent returns the most recently saved segment in your account by date created.

  • Oldest sorts the list by the least recently created segments in your account by date.

  • A-Z sorts the list in alphabetical order. The date the segment was created has no impact on this sort option.

  • Z-A sorts the list in reverse alphabetical order. The date the segment was created has no impact on this sort option.

Search Saved Segments

To locate a saved segment in your saved Segments:

  1. Enter the name of the segment into the search bar

  2. Click Enter on your keyboard

If the segment entered does not exist in your account there will be no data to show.

Export a Segment 

To export a saved segment:

  1. Go to People > Saved Segments 

  2. Select the segment you want to export 

  3. Click Actions > Export to CSV 

  4. Click Okay 

A CSV file of people in the segment will be emailed to you.

Delete a Saved Segment

When you delete a saved Segment, the people included in the segment will still remain on your list.

To delete a saved segment:

  1. Go to People > Saved Segments

  2. Locate the Segment and click Delete

x A mockup of the cover of the Holiday Ebook

Free Guide to Black Friday & Cyber Monday

Ready to rethink Black Friday? Focus on long-term loyalty, not just short-term sales. Grab our free guide full of whys and hows for this holiday season.

Get my copy