Migrate Order Management Systems with Drip


There may come a time when your business needs to move from one order management system (OMS) to another. Sometimes, you outgrow the features and functionality of your current OMS. Other times, it’s the price, flexibility, or need to go global. One thing you can count on through it all is that you won’t need to leave Drip. In this guide, we’ll walk you through how to maintain the cleanest data in Drip while migrating order management systems.

Account Setup

To complete these steps, you need to have an active Drip subscription and an account synced with an order management system (Magento, Shopify, WooCommerce, Custom, Other). 

You and your team will spend plenty of time building out your store on the new platform. In this example, we’ll use Magento and Shopify. 

The first step is to migrate your list and order history from Magento to Shopify. Once you’ve done that, add a new Drip account under your existing subscription for your new OMS. Creating a new account is best to avoid mixing up data and to make the migration process cleaner. Here a few things to keep in mind:

  • Creating a new account under your subscription allows you to access both accounts from the same user log in, so your login email address and password won’t change.  
  • You will need to add existing team members to the new account.
  • The second account will be added to your current billing. We’ll get into that below! 

Lastly, integrate the new Drip account with your new OMS provider. Your customer list and orders will be synced to the new Drip account, and you’ll have all of the most recent store data. 

Migrate Your List

Migrate your list from the old Drip account to the new one to ensure that you don’t miss any customers during the process. It’s important to keep people’s email preference during the move because you’re required to respect people’s marketing preferences, and most OMS platforms don’t maintain two-way sync with Drip. To do this, export two separate files: one for subscribed people and one for unsubscribed people. 

Export Subscribed People

Filter for subscribed people.

Export subscribed people by going to People and filtering for people subscribed to email marketing. Once the page refreshes, click Actions > Export to CSV. An email with a link to the CSV file will be sent to the email address you're logged in as. Download the file to your desktop, and save it as “SubscribedPeople.csv.” 


Export Unsubscribed People

Filter for people who are unsubscribed from email marketing.

Export unsubscribed people by going to People and filtering for people unsubscribed to email marketing. Once the page refreshes, click Actions > Export to CSV. An email with a link to the CSV file will be sent to the email address you're logged in as. Download the file to your desktop, and save it as “UnsubscribedPeople.csv.”

Import CSV Files 

Now you’re ready to import each file from the old account to the new account.  Import your CSV files to Drip: 

  1. In the new Drip account, go to People
  2. Click + Add People
  3. Select Upload a list of people 
  4. Upload or drag and drop your CSV file. Once you upload your CSV, you'll see a preview of the first few rows
  5. The box to Treat the first row in your file as headers is turned ON by default 
  6. The option to Tag these people as “Imported YY-DD-MM at HH-MM-SS” is turned ON by default
  7. For the SubscribedPeople.csv click Next > Add these People < Next 
  8. For the UnsubscribedPeople.csv click More Actions
  9. Select Unsubscribe a person > All mailings
  10. Click Perform Operation to complete the import

You’ll be redirected to the Bulk Operations page where you can see the progress of your import. The operation will show as pending while we import your list, and once it’s completed can be found under Complete bulk operations.

Locate the subscribed people you just imported in your account under People > Active > people subscribed to marketing email. Locate the unsubscribed people you just imported in your account under People > Active > people unsubscribed from email marketing

Deactivate People 

Deactivate everyone in the old account to ensure that you aren’t charged for those people in both accounts. Drip doesn’t bill for duplicates in the same account, but you are charged for duplicates across different accounts. If you notice your monthly bill increases, please reach out to support@drip.com and we will correct it for you. 

Go back to your original account and deactivate all Active people:

  1. Go to People > Bulk Operations
  2. Click + New Bulk Operation
  3. Select Choose a segment
  4. Leave the filter blank to include all Active people in your account
  5. Click Next 
  6. Select Deactivate person > Next 
  7. Click Perform Operation to complete the operation

All Active people will be moved under the Inactive tab, where they are excluded from your billing. 

Once you’ve confirmed all people, orders, products, and carts are coming into your new account (give it a few days to be safe), disconnect your original website from your original Drip account. This will prevent Drip from reactivating those people in the old account if there is any activity on the old site. 

Migrate Automations

Migrate Workflows from your original account to your new account by sharing the Workflow via URL

  1. Go to Automations > Workflows 
  2. Select the Workflow you’d like to share 
  3. Click Edit Workflow 
  4. Click on the settings gear in the upper right-hand corner 
  5. Click Share < Share Workflow 
  6. Click the link to copy 
  7. Toggle ON the option to Share all referenced campaigns and one-off emails to share the contents in the Workflow over to your other account
  8. If you are not already signed in to your Drip account, you will be asked to do so. Otherwise, select the Drip account you would like to install the workflow to 
  9. Paste the URL into the browser’s address bar 
  10. Click Install This Workflow 

Once the install is complete, you will be redirected to the workflow in the account it was shared to. 

Keep in mind that most Workflows depend on Triggers specific to your OMS, so you will want to update those in your new account to ensure they work correctly. 

Integrations

Any third party integrations, such as Facebook Custom Audiences, will need to be set up again in the new account. Be sure to disconnect them from your old Drip account so you’re not sending data to multiple accounts. 

Once you’ve successfully disconnected and reconnected any third-party integrations, you’re all set to go. You can reference the old reporting and data as needed in your original account.