Skip navigation

Go Beyond Email and Engage with All People Through Drip

When Drip started life as an email opt-in widget that could be propped up on any website to collect email addresses, getting subscribers was the goal. The idea was that if you could capture an email address, you could send an email campaign that would eventually get the subscriber to convert.

Just like that. An easy peasy formula of “subscriber + marketing email = conversion.”

But today, Drip powers multichannel marketing, fuel smart data learning about your customers, create intelligent and timely social ad campaigns, automate your most intricate processes, and beyond.

If you joined Drip after April 22, 2019, you were prompted to select if you wanted to use Drip to engage with all people, or simply to send marketing email to your subscribers.

With Drip, you can engage with your customers through

  • Hyper-personalized transactional emails
  • Multichannel Workflows.
  • Social media retargeting (Facebook and Instagram).
  • Third-party integrations like SMS and direct mail for all people.

Drip also provides deep insight into your customers' behavior, and their engagement with your marketing activities -- Lifetime Value (LTV), order history, browse behavior, email engagement, and more.

Review the CAN-SPAM Act: A Compliance Guide for Business for more information on transactional vs marketing (commercial) email content.

Ready to power up your Drip account? Activate All People in Drip

An account owner or admin can activate All People at any time.

To activate all people:

  1. Go to People > Inactive
  2. Click Activate All People
  3. Click Confirm & Activate

Once you activate all people, you can find them under Active > people unsubscribed from email marketing and begin engaging with them.

An account owner, account admin, or our Support team are not able to undo this action or turn off All People.

Nurture or Prune?

person activity

 

Under your People tab, filter for Active people unsubscribed from email marketing.

When thinking about who to deactivate on your list, ask yourself the following questions.  

  • Have they placed an order?
  • What is their browsing behavior?
  • Are they showing any interest in the brand?

If you answered “yes” to one or all of the questions, you should nurture your relationship with them! Below are a few ideas on how you can engage with them.

If you answered “no” to all of the questions above, move them to Inactive.  Use a Bulk Operation to move this segment to Inactive.

  1. Go to People > Imports/ Bulk Ops
  2. Click + New Bulk Operation
  3. Select Choose a segment of existing people > Next Step
  4. Select people unsubscribed from email marketing under Choose the segment this operation should affect
  5. Select your segment criteria
  6. Click Next
  7. Select Deactivate person
  8. Click Next
  9. Click Schedule Operation

Smart Engagement with Inactive People

There will be times when an unlikely customer may prove you wrong and engage with your brand after you’ve moved them to Inactive. Luckily, when an Inactive person engages with your brand they will automatically be moved back into Active people for you to engage with and possibly generate revenue from.

There are many ways customers can engage with your brand, but here are a few examples.

  • The customer opens an email from a sale announcement you sent before they were marked Inactive. The action of opening the email, would transition them from being Inactive to Active.
  • The customer is marked as Inactive, but a few months later they browse your website. The action of visiting your website would transition them from being Inactive to Active.
  • The customer makes a purchase in your store after a day of being marked Inactive. The action of making a purchase would transition them from being Inactive to Active.

Terms

When adopting new terminology and understanding new roles for your customers, it can be a bit confusing at first, so here is a quick recap of each status.

A  person in your account is either Active or Inactive.

  • If a person is Active, you can engage with them, Drip collects data points on them, and you are billed for them.
  • If a person is Inactive, you cannot engage with them, Drip does not collect any new data points on the starting with their inactive date, and you are not billed for them.
x A browser window showing the Drip Swag Shop

Wanna see Drip from a fresh angle?

Craving a more hands-on experience? Take 2 minutes and see what your shoppers see when you use Drip with this interactive experience.

Start my experience